It’s Time

Astronomical Clock (Astronomical Dial), Prague...

My meagre offering today is a poem I wrote two years ago.

Today, time is not my friend.
Today I want to grab each clock from the wall,
Each staring, glaring face,
Smash them to the floor
And reach inside to pull
The minutes, the hours, the days
Back to me,
The time that has been wrenched from me
By meaningless tasks, boredom,
Frantic activity for someone else’s satisfaction.
Today should remain Today
Until I have finished with it,
Have done each job with care,
Lovingly explored each relationship,
Sighed with contentment over ink and paper,
Food, children, books, grace.
Time does not distinguish between
Should and Must,
Want and Need.
It goes on inexorably,
Crushing, mashing all before it.
I want to invert the hierarchy of need.
I want the frivolous to shelter me,
Loved ones’ smiles to feed me,
A good book to do the laundry.
Then at the end of Today,
I should not regret the time.

2 thoughts on “It’s Time

  1. I tried to leave a comment on this post earlier but it didn’t work for some reason. I wanted to let you know that you were so brave for sharing your poetry and that I could relate so well to this poem.

    • I’m sorry your first comment didn’t work. Weird. And thanks for the encouragement – it was tough to share it because poetry usually comes from a place of strong emotion.

Tell me your thoughts!

