Donkeys and Death

Here’s a great quote from one of the books I’m currently reading:

“[As I get older,] [w]hat of me will I still have?  Well, this old body has been a pretty good companion.  Like Balaam’s ass, it’s seen the angel I haven’t seen yet, and it’s lying down in the path.”  ~ Marilynne Robinson, Gilead

Gilead is a wonderful book that is part story, part handbook for life and for death.  It is poetic prose, and I can hear the mellow, deep voice of the narrator/protagonist as he reflects and meditates.  It’s a slow, gentle read, with much to chew on and digest.  It’s taking me months to get through this book because I can only read a few pages at a time before I have to stop to allow it to sink in.  Each paragraph has some quote I’d love to share, but then you wouldn’t need to read the book!

Gilead (novel)

Image via Wikipedia

Tell me your thoughts!

