This blog’s life purpose

girl, writing

Image via Wikipedia

I began writing the introduction to this post once, but realized that I had no idea what this blog would become for me.  Now that I’ve written a few posts, I’m coming to realize that it is meant as a mirror.  It offers a reflection of my spiritual state and provides markers behind me along my life path.  I try to journal regularly so that I can order my thoughts and give myself a clear, quiet space to reflect on life, who God is, who I am, and where I am.  My journal is emotionally messy, often embarassing, and very, very private.  I doubt I’ll leave my collection of journals for posterity.  I don’t think cyberspace needs another blog.  There are thousands (millions? billions?) of blogs, many of them interesting and worth reading, with beautiful pictures/images, written by better and more creative writers than I.  My blog is not my journal, and it is not a showcase for my talents.  It is a place for me to explore ideas, think, reason, and intuit about what I come across or enters my life.  You, the reader, are invited to accompany me.

I love to write and feel most in tune with myself when I can put thoughts on paper.  Writing has been, mostly, a catharsis since I was 15 years old.  It is a deeply personal activity and often everything becomes clear to me as I type or write.  I took a long time – months, in fact – before I worked up the courage to begin this blog.  A blog is a public space and anyone can read what one writes, and therefore criticize, so I am, in a sense, inviting the world in to my spiritual journey.  That’s daunting.

My goal in life is to know God in the deepest part of me.  Writing in this way functions as a form of spiritual dicipline.  Yoga guides my mind and body into awareness of their unity, and writing guides my mind and heart into awareness of who God is and where I fit or don’t fit in the universe.  By knowing God and allowing God to know me, I find peace for my spirit.  Elizabeth Raid, a writer for the devotional magazine “Rejoice!”, uses author Kathleen Norris in Acedia and Me: A Marriage, Monks, and a Writer’s Life to speak about the journey towards spiritual wholeness:

Norris acknowledges that “no one is exempt from anger, jealousy, greed, gluttony, lust, pride, acedia [a “condition of the spirit akin to the oft-ignored sin of sloth.” Quoted from previously in the same article.]”  Instead of denying or ignoring these bad thoughts and feelings, the way through them brings us “to the virtue on the other side” – the fruits of the Spirit.

So, my blog is a place for me to practice spiritual discipline in order to become a person of faith who is at peace with God, herself, and the world, and who lives a life of the Spirit and is filled with her fruits – love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, and self-control.

Now if only I could think of a clever title for my blog.  Suggestions are welcome…

Tell me your thoughts!

